Part of the Glyn Academies Trust

School Standards Board/Governing Body

Cuddington Croft School Schools Standards Board

Staying at the forefront of outstanding education by developing innovative teaching practices, whilst supporting the growth of others.

Cuddington Croft Primary School is part of GLF Schools, a Multi Academy Trust (MAT) made up of Primary and Secondary schools.  The governance structure of the trust had been developed to support both the culture of GLF Schools and the effective management of a growing organisation. GLF Schools recognises the individuality of each school and that each school has its own distinct character and culture that is respectful of its community and context.

The Trust Board is accountable to the Secretary of State for all schools within the MAT and responsible for compliance with government and EFSA requirements, company law and charity law. Whilst the Trust Board will always remain accountable, there is delegation of decision making where appropriate. Further information on GLF governance arrangements can be found here

Each school within the MAT has a School Standards Board (SSB) to provide the local governance function, to which the Trust Board delegates.

In all schools, governance, should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. Holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management, including well-being, of staff
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Each SSB has a variable number of members, comprised of: voluntary members of the community, elected parent representatives, the Executive Headteacher, and a member of the GLF central team. The members discharge their duties through: twice termly board meetings, monitoring visits and contributing to other working groups and committees within The Trust.  Members also attend training to improve understanding of their role and to keep up to date in the ever-changing educational world.



Term of Office

Date appointed

Mrs Faye Thorp



4 Years


Mr Stephen Brown

Vice Chair


4 years


Mr Tom Nunes Community 4 years


Mr Neil Thomas Community 4 years


Mr Scott Maclean

Executive Headteacher

Whilst in post


Ms Jo Freeman 

Education Partner GLF

4 years


Mrs Penny Garry

Clerk to Strategy Board

4 years



The Chair of Governors may be contacted at  or in confidence through the school office.

Local Governing Body List of relevant Pecuniary or Personal Interests - 1 September 2020 may be found at this link.